Talk

Advanced search

Cats - (I'm new to this) is there anything you can do to prevent them getting fleas?

(14 Posts)
TsarChasm Sun 06-Sep-09 13:46:21

It's been years since we had a cat in the house but are considering getting one now dc are older and they really want one.

I seem to recall some drops you could use on cats to stop them ever getting fleas. Is that the case? Does it work??

We could never use that sort of thing on our moggy cos he was quite old and allergic to everything. I remember the flea problem as being quite a battle though and it's putting me off getting another one now. Any thoughts?

BecauseImWorthIt Sun 06-Sep-09 13:47:50

You can get collars that stop them getting fleas.

The drops you're thinking of are Frontline.

In reality, our cats often seem to have the odd flea, but they rarely bother us. If there is an infestation you can also buy a spray to use on the furniture/carpets.

ilovesprouts Sun 06-Sep-09 13:49:38

get some frountline ,if you are on benifits and you reg we the pdsa ,its cheeper to get it from there ,also they do jabs and worming too !!

ib Sun 06-Sep-09 13:49:50

Frontline does work ime. I don't like the collars, so frontline is all I use.

We only had an infestation once (we probably got a bit lazy about frontlining every month, though)

Lulubee Sun 06-Sep-09 13:50:04

We use Frontline on our cat and it works really well - have never seen a flea on her. She's only small so although you're supposed to re-apply every month I only do it once evry 6-8 weeks and still no problems. I think it cost me £35 for a 6 month course from the vet, but I have been told you can get it cheaper online. You just part the fur on the neck (between the shoulder blades, where they can't wash it off) and drop the stuff on the skin. Cat then wanders round looking uncomfortable for a while as it dries.

TsarChasm Sun 06-Sep-09 13:53:08

Yes Frontline that was it.