Talk

Advanced search

My hamster's dead... what to do about ds (3)?

(11 Posts)
Picante Wed 26-Aug-09 18:08:06

Haven't done anything yet he's still in his cage. Do I tell ds and let him see him and bury him, or do I quietly get dispose of him and tell him in the morning?

I'm not very good with dead animals so I'd quite like a quick solution which doesn't involve me touching him sad.

I've already talked to ds about the fact he was on his way out, and he got upset - I don't want to show him something that would upset him iyswim.

He's 3 and a half...

ChookKeeper Wed 26-Aug-09 18:38:37

I wouldn't show him to be honest - they do go a bit manky after a few hours (sorry to be blunt). If you've already prepared your ds then I would just bury the hamster and tell your ds tomorrow. If he asks where the hamster is then show him the grave and use the chance to do the "what happens when we die" talk.

Hope he's not too upset but that he remembers the hamster with fondness.

123andaway Wed 26-Aug-09 18:44:53

In my experience the death of hamsters (birds and other small creatures), involves a full cerimonial burial in the garden, complete with hymns and flowers. Followed by a hasty trip to the pet shop. That said DC's are a fair bit older than your DS.

It's a tough call weather he would be more upset by Hammy just dissapearing or a dead Hammy.

I would personally be tempted to wrap him up in tissue in a small box and conduct a simple little burial for him. Your DS may want to see him, in which case I would open the box and let him give him a little stroke, but I wouldn't offer, I'd wait and see if he asks.

Hope DS isn't too upset.

FabBakerGirlIsBack Wed 26-Aug-09 18:50:33

Bury him tonight once DS has gone to bed. If you tell him now he might not sleep.

Tell him in the morning that hammy has died but didn't he have a lovely life and didn't you have a lot of fun together?

Do you have to tell him??

morethanyoubargainfor Wed 26-Aug-09 18:54:27