Talk

Advanced search

Stupid (and boring) question re aquarium filters from adoptive mother of goldfish!

(9 Posts)
gibbberish Thu 18-Jun-09 21:21:03

I 'inherited' four goldfish a few days ago from someone who had grown tired of them.

Anyway, I know NOTHING about fish or tanks and am not sure whether the filter should be completely under the water (I assume it should be) or whether there is a right way and wrong way to fit it? i.e. does it have to be a certain way up?

It doesn't seem to be working terribly well which is why I am wondering if I have put it in incorrectly.

Sorry to be dim... and tia.

Furball Fri 19-Jun-09 06:22:10

I'm also a novice as was given a tank and fish so can only tell you about my tank.

There is a pump half in and half out the water sucking it up and it comes out over a piece of sponge which is out of the tanks water but in a constant stream before going back into the tank making bubbles to oxygenate.

There isn't hardly any noise and when there is I know I've not put it in quite right or the pump is clogged with stuff

poopscoop Fri 19-Jun-09 06:41:52

We are 18 months and a great many dead fish further on that you blush

The filter itself lies underneath the gravel at the bottom, is that the type you have? We have moved from dead goldfish to tropicals. The top of the filter i.e where the water flows into the tank is just above the surface of the water. It makes a noise but a gentle water flowing noise.

Ca you not get the people you got the goldfish from to pop round and ensure you have set it up correctly?

gibbberish Fri 19-Jun-09 11:04:04

Thanks for that furball and poopscoop. Oh dear at the ones who have passed away poopscoop blush grin The filter we have has vents at the sides at one end and a hole (which presumably is for blowing out the air) at the other end. Sounds a bit like yours furball. The foamy filter stuff is at the bit with the vents.