Talk

Advanced search

Abscess

(18 Posts)
WinkyWinkola Mon 13-Oct-08 20:33:36

My elderly cat (14) has an abscess in his left cheek. The vet can't tell yet if it's because of a bad tooth or an external injury perhaps through fighting.

He's had antibiotic and anti inflammatory injections today. I'm to take him back on Wednesday to see how he's doing.

The vet quoted £510 for surgery - it's a lot of money, isn't it? It could be £80 less if the tooth doesn't need extracting.

The vet wanted to keep the cat in for surgery but DH said he's not prepared to spend that amount of money on an elderly cat. We stopped insurance a year ago because it was getting v. expensive.

I'm worried because I can't bear to think of the old man suffering. Is the cat going to be miserable and in great pain until the abscess subsides? The vet says it will subside over time. He's thin and doddery anyway but is eating ok.

What do you think is best? Anyone?

Joolyjoolyjoo Mon 13-Oct-08 20:38:54

Hi- I'm a vet and £510 sounds astronomical for what could just be lancing an abscess!! Where do you live? WE would probably charge about £100 tops, even if the tooth had to be extracted, so worth maybe shopping around?? If your old boy is eating and reasonably content, hopefully the antibiotics and anti-inflammatories might be sufficient to make him comfortable. If it is a tooth root abscess it might come back, but in an elderly cat I'd probably keep surgery as a last resort. If it is an abscess caused by fighting, it may well burst on its own. Hopefully you will see a good improvement in the next couple of days.

WinkyWinkola Mon 13-Oct-08 20:41:49

We live in Hemel Hempstead. The vet said he would have to have a general anaesthetic which is why it would cost so much.

So, we're not being cruel by having only one jab of antibiotics and one anti inflammatory jab?

Thanks for your response. I'm definitely going to shop around.

Joolyjoolyjoo Mon 13-Oct-08 20:58:49