Talk

Advanced search

Please salve my guilty conscience over my cat!! and in fact my general neglect of all of my cats since having children!

(6 Posts)
peggotty Tue 09-Sep-08 11:00:22

Ok, not actual real proper neglect, just not having time to pet, play with them as much. And in fact, being bloody irritated by them sometimes. One of my cats has just been diagnosed with possible asthma and it has made me feel awful because he's been wheezing for a couple of weeks and I only just round to taking him to the vets yesterday. My 3 cats used to mean the world to me and though I still love them I really do have much less time for them now I have 2 dcs. One in particular is now 11, I got him when I was a student and I can see he is starting to age. My chldren are young (3 and 8months) do you sort of 'rediscover' your pets once dcs are a bit older?

peggotty Tue 09-Sep-08 11:10:35

Or maybe my conscience is unsalvable wink and surruptitious (sp!) bump

vonsudenfed Tue 09-Sep-08 11:20:59

It's really hard, isn't it. We have two quite young cats, and they've never sat on my lap since I had dd sad. Although two years in, they are beginning to recover.

I don't know; for me, I suspect I will never ever love a cat as much as I once did - (although I can still cry at the thought of my old Eartha Kitten, who I got when I was a student died at the age of 18. I'm sort of glad that I didn't have a child when she was around, as she would have really missed being fussed over. But I still like having them around, and would hate not to have them.

And don't feel guilty, we've spent months (and I mean this) trying to get a urine sample out of Fat and Lazy Cat. In the meantime, her cystitis and urge to pee on the front doormat has gone away, so now we've given up...

bella29 Tue 09-Sep-08 11:24:00

Don't feel bad, peggotty! Before I had my dc I used to bake and ice birthday cakes for my dogs, and my animals were the most important thing in the world to me (even more so than dh!).