Talk

Advanced search

A cat that I think is pregnant might be 'nesting' in my shed. Obviously I'm no expert!

(11 Posts)
3kids1cat Wed 23-Jul-08 08:22:36

For a few months we have had a female cat in the garden, hanging around with our male cat.
I'm pretty sure there is a good chance that our cat could have got her pregnant before we had him neutered in the middle of June.

The last week I have seen her going in and out of our shed through a hole in the door. She has been meowing at me a lot, and I gave her some food which she finished off very quickly. Her belly looks very swollen and when I felt underneath her, her nipples feel large. Does this sound like she's pregnant?

I have tried asking my neighbours who she belongs to and knowbody knows. She isn't wearing a collar. I'm worried that she is going to give birth in my shed, which is full of junk and not very clean. What should I do to help her?

girlywhirly Wed 23-Jul-08 09:13:53

Your cat may not be the only one this female has mated with. But yes, it seems she is pregnant. She may be microchipped, so get a vet to scan her. Contact Cats Protection and see if they can take her, but chances are they are overrun with kittens at present. At least they will advise you about care of her in the meantime. As she seems a friendly cat, she will probably rehome easily after the kittens are ready to leave her.

SheSellsSeashellsByTheSeashore Wed 23-Jul-08 09:19:17

dont worry about her giving birth in your shed! she will be fine. agree re taking her to the vets but if there is no micro chip its best to leave her in your shed where she feels most comfortable. if you bring her into your house to have her kittens your male cat may hurt/kill the kittens to protect his territory!

just make sure that she is fed and watered etc and she will do the rest. it might be that she has a home but its too noisy for her settle and have her kittens there, so dont worry either if she dissapears after her kittens have been rehomed.