Talk

Advanced search

Kitten doesnt like resident kittens!

(24 Posts)
Lora3 Tue 08-Oct-19 20:51:58

Heyyy I'm new to mumsnet so hi!!

I've recently rescued 3 kittens in the space of a short time. I havent had cats before only dogs and always had 2 at once. This time I've gone further and got three! I adopted them all from rescue centres and reason being is because I can provide a loving forever home for them so why not 🤷🏼‍♀️

I adopted Sox on the 9th of August and he is now 18 weeks old. Then I adopted Teddy just two weeks later and he is now 16 weeks old. They immediately got on Sox was a tiny bit hissy but nothing much and instantly were best friends it was great. 2 days ago I adopted my third little baby Peanut. Peanut is 14 weeks. He is so adorable and very very affectionate with me and my little boy who is only 2 years old. He will run his head against mine and follow me around he licks my face and is just all round a bag of cuteness! However, he does not like the other kittens. I've tried to follow rules regarding introduction with blankets and towels and smells etc. Inttoducing them slowly but whenever I try Peanut is just hissing and growling at my 2 resident kitty's.

Teddy does nothing back and I feel he just wants to be friends,he is very laid back and chilled black kitty. Sox however has been hissing back today and they both get into a slapping match 😿 Sox is also a very affectionate black and white kitty but he is rather large cat!

All of them have had vaccinations and have all been neutered.

Will it always be like this?is this normal? Should I do something to help or just let them sniff and hiss till they figure it out? I really dont want Peanut to go back to the rescue if it doesnt work so it's going to be really hard if they never get on for the next 10-15 years 😿

Any advice would be hugely appreciated given I'm an amateur and possibly bitten off more than I can chew!🙈😹 THANKS

spiritslevel Tue 08-Oct-19 20:55:55