Talk

Advanced search

New kitten owner

(6 Posts)
BuntyBonus Tue 03-Oct-17 23:10:51

Hi, some advice for new kitten owner please! I wasn't planning on getting kittens but someone at work couldn't keep them and was either going to take them to a rescue centre or on a selling site. Anyway as an animal lover I didn't want this to happen and want them to have a lovely life with me. So, some questions (probably very basic but I'm new to this) They are 10 weeks old and as far as I know haven't had anything like worming, flea treatments yet. Do I take them to the vets and they do everything or do I do these treatments at home. They both need neutering but I understand this can't be done until they are a little older. Is that right? Also what is the best food to give them? Thank you

lemureyes Wed 04-Oct-17 21:56:18

You can worm and flea them with treatments you buy yourself (no need to take them to the vets for these routine treatments) you will need to buy treatments specifically for kittens as adults treatments will not be suitable. Do your research into the best treatment to get.

Neutering will need to be done when they are older, I'm not sure what age though (worth calling your vet to check when they should be neutered) all I know is that it's a good idea to get females spayed before their first season especially if they are roaming around outside.

In my experience there is no 'best' food, all my cats have been quite happy with the food I have given them whether it was the cheaper or more expensive food.

Also don't worry about getting loads of toys, a few good ones for them to chase are fine but otherwise you can never go wrong with a good cardboard box. If you're on a budget they don't need an expensive kitty palace.

A scratchpost is always a good investment to save your furniture and to attempt to get them into good habits. Get one that is an adult cat size and allows them to stretch to their full adult length, then they can climb it too.

Hope this helps 😊