Talk

Advanced search

I have apparently been using the apostrophe wrong for years, now i really want to know

(24 Posts)
GodzillasBumcheek Wed 17-Sep-08 21:52:25

Other than it's being its (the exception to the possessive rule which i have been mis-correcting DH's texts with for 6 years); what other exceptions are there that i am unaware of? I am feeling Very Uneducated (well actually i am very uneducated but never mind).

loobeylou Wed 17-Sep-08 22:09:23

saw a kids t-shirt with a cute little zebra in tesco this summer which had the slogan "zebra's have stripes" or "zebras have stripe's" can't remember which but decided not to buy one

did have PJs from Asda for my DD aged 1 that said "Your'e a star" - wrote and complained but got no reply

being serious though, I suppose theirs has no apostrophe either (I think)

Like your name, but should have an apostrophe in that too!

fryalot Wed 17-Sep-08 22:11:20

The only time that there should be an apostrophe in the word ITS is when you are shortening IT IS.

Every other time it is just ITS.

So if you are saying "It's a nice day" that's fine, but if you are saying "The cat has lost its collar" you need to lose the apostrophe. Always.

hth

Feenie Wed 17-Sep-08 22:14:35

Dunnes had girls' knickers with "Your rich...!" plastered all over them. I don't even have a daughter but was enough of a pedant (and hormonal enough) to complain. The shop assistant didn't have a clue what I was blethering on about. I left another one trying to explain it to her, and then a call came over the tannoy for the supervisor! God knows if they sorted it out. Bloody tacky anyway grin

GodzillasBumcheek Wed 17-Sep-08 22:24:27

It does make you wonder who has the daft ideas for these items of clothing.

For some reason i've never had any trouble knowing not to put the apostrophe in 'theirs'. It just doesn't look right otherwise.

I didn't just mean mistakes with apostophes anyway - for example am i using ... or - wrongly? I don't know any more!