Talk

Advanced search

Just practising the tests you have to do to become a teacher and this is bobbins surely...

(25 Posts)
Clary Sun 11-Sep-11 00:35:52

...got marked down for this piece of punctuation: (my version) One boy said: "I am really enjoying reading now." as opposed to: (their "correct" version) One boy said, "I am really enjoying reading now."

Surely the colon not the comma is correct? Help me ladies, I am not happy if the comma is being taught in schools now!

<will have to knuckle under to get best mark in test too, grumble grumble>

carpwidow Sun 11-Sep-11 00:38:03

Sorry Clary, but I think the comma is correct.

Clary Sun 11-Sep-11 00:40:02

I was a journalist for years and we always used the colon, worked in many places with different styles (eg some used no one, others no-one, some 10 others ten) but all used a colon.

Maybe it's a recent thing? Are you a young pedant carpwidow? smile

doublestandard Sun 11-Sep-11 00:40:04

You wouldn't use a colon with speech marks. And I think (but accept I am decades out of date!) a comma is only used in handwritten work, not typed in this scenario.

carpwidow Sun 11-Sep-11 00:46:12

What me? A pedant? <<grabs copy of 'Eats Shoots & Leaves'>> How very dare you? (like the 'young' bit though grin)

AnyoneButLulu Sun 11-Sep-11 00:48:48

I was always taught comma - and am a pedant of mature years.

starfishmummy Sun 11-Sep-11 00:49:43

Comma

Clary Sun 11-Sep-11 10:14:08

OK ladies have done a brief bit of research.

Using available reading matter around my home I have established:
The Journalist (NUJ magazine) uses colon
What's Brewing (CAMRA paper) uses colon
Private Eye uses colon
Local footie club programme uses colon
Middlemarch (gah! I'm ploughing through reading it!) - not much introduction of speech this way but she uses either a dash or a comma. One instance also of a colon.

Not sure where this gets us. No proper daily papers here but I know the local paper uses a colon because I worked there for years.