Talk

Advanced search

Most amusing spelling mistakes you have seen on mumsnet

(136 Posts)
GetOrfMoiSamsungFridgeFreezer Fri 05-Aug-11 15:38:27

One which made me laugh - a mner was complaining about her bin collections or something and said she was going to call the council to complain. She spelled it as cancel. Can just imagine that being said in saft London accent, could see why she spelled it that way the dozy mare.

Here Here comes up a LOT on here. It makes me curl my lip.

Chest of draws.

Frexylady Fri 05-Aug-11 15:51:40

Excellent.

Was mortified when I used to work as a secretary and accidentally typed my boss's business development expenses as "Bustiness Development". Oops.

GetOrfMoiSamsungFridgeFreezer Fri 05-Aug-11 15:52:53

Hahah bustiness development. What a freudian slip grin

Persay for per se.

catinboots Fri 05-Aug-11 15:53:26

I personally like Chester Draws

Frexylady Fri 05-Aug-11 15:57:15

Well he was a bit of a perv actually so luckily he saw the funny side.

Like nails down the blackboard when I see "Strawberrie's" for sale at the local grocer. Why?????

AbsDuCroissant Fri 05-Aug-11 15:57:16

There's the infamous "grammer police" <unimaginative>

I'll try and think of more.

Jjou Fri 05-Aug-11 15:58:16

The nethuns invader last year (?) who got all arsey about the GRAMMER POLICE!!! made me laugh. She wrote it like that too, all flouncy and dramatic, and proved people's points in one short burst. Classic. grin

OTheHugeManatee Fri 05-Aug-11 15:59:59

Wolef still wins grin

FerretMum Fri 05-Aug-11 16:01:20

Not on mn I know, but when I was a student nurse, I was writing an essay about the heart and wanted to say "The heart is a hollow muscular organ, about the size of a clenched fist and shaped like a blunt cone..." (shamelessly lifted out of Tortora...) What I wrote was "... about the size of a clenched fist and shaped like a blunt c#nt..."

Fortunately, I did re-read my efforts and was able to correct this before I handed it in, lol!