Talk

Advanced search

I need help!! How do keep these children entertained for 2 hours without spending much...

(17 Posts)
aircraftannie Fri 16-Oct-09 18:28:13

So, I've hired the hall and I've got 14 x 6 year olds and a handful of 3-4 year olds and a couple of 10 year olds...weekend after next...help!!

I've no money for hiring anything/anyone for the entertainment.

So what fab ideas have you got for games??

And how many games do you think I'll need?

Will we be able to keep control...I've never done this before. How many helpers do I need to recruit?

If you've done this before and it went well, what are your best tips...

IsItMeOr Fri 16-Oct-09 18:33:19

My dsisters, with older children than me, swear by getting cardboard crowns or similar for them to decorate with stickers/stars/etc. I think that would occupy the 6yos and 3-4yos for about 20-30mins.

goingtohaveagoodnightssleep Fri 16-Oct-09 18:39:30

Cup cake decorating always works well.

Could you buy/borrow a parchute? I think they are about £15 in the ELC.

girlsyearapart Fri 16-Oct-09 18:50:47

went to a party where they had a game with bubble wrap sheets and in pairs the kids had to jump on them and pop them.

Was off a website for party stuff but I can't remember what it was called..

cat64 Fri 16-Oct-09 18:51:50

Message withdrawn

defineme Fri 16-Oct-09 18:53:07

craft table - crowns (cut out yourself to keep costs down) with stickers and felt tips.

Decorate biscuits of homemade fairy cakes - goes in swich bag and put in party bag

cd player - musical statues, musical bumps and then when they've warmed up a dance comp with medals or sweets for the best dancer/wildest dancer/dancer most like Troy...
Somone may have disco lights you can borrow.

Games like traffic lights or fruit bowl can be fun.

Make large homemade pin the tail on the donkey type things but it can be whatever or whoever you like.