Talk

Advanced search

Anyone got a school aged child and not had a birthday party for them yet?

(6 Posts)
nappyaddict Sun 12-Jul-09 13:37:27

Just curious really. Is it the norm that once they go to school EVERYONE has a birthday party? I don't think I like the idea of these massive invite everyone in your class parties. I'm not very good at organising things - can you tell grin

DS' 3rd birthday was a last minute on the day thing of text a few friends and see if they want to come round after we've been to the zoo. We didn't get back from the zoo until 5:30 so 2 of his friends were quite tired and were unsure if they were going to come, 1 couldn't come til about 6:30 and the other rang me up about 6:15 and said I've just got in from work is it ok if we pop round now. I didn't do any food as I didn't know who was coming or when. As it happened the 2 that did come turned up roughly the same time so i bunged a pizza and some sausage rolls in the oven, then gave them some ice cream. We tried to sing happy birthday outside but only 1 candle would stay lit in the wind. I gave them a piece of cake to go home and shoved some haribo in sandwich bags. All very impromptu lol.

fruitshootsandheaves Sun 12-Jul-09 14:07:58

DS will be 8 on 5th august, he has never had a birthday party.

nappyaddict Sun 12-Jul-09 14:18:17

What sort of things do you do instead?

fruitshootsandheaves Sun 12-Jul-09 14:23:57

we just have a family day really. Opening presents in the morning. We have a party tea with cake and we sometimes will get a dvd out and have popcorn while we watch it.
As 3 of my DC's have birthdays in August we are often on holiday for at least one.

nappyaddict Sun 12-Jul-09 14:40:37

Do you have family etc round for tea or is it just you, DH and the DC?

fruitshootsandheaves Sun 12-Jul-09 15:32:56

just us usually, dh's family live too far away and my family don't usually come.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion