Talk

Advanced search

my husbands son

(8 Posts)
user1465822474 Tue 01-Oct-19 10:53:23

AIBU to expect DH's 37 year old son, who has lived with us for nearly six months rent free (and who I got his only paid part time job in over 8 years through a friend) to say thank you when he finally moved out?
I work from home and for a large proportion of that time he's been in the house, draining the broadband width we have available by streaming video games in his room. This has had the effect of slowing my work down to snails pace and he managed to crash internet completely when DH was running an online training course to 20 people in virtual classrooms. But aside from that, he never did any cleaning, called the house 'untidy' (it has been because I am also an artist and when I have a sale or exhibition coming up it does tend to overflow onto most available spaces, but he knew that beefore he moved in). In all the time he was here he bought us 2 drinks when out (he has got some money- £21,000 in the bank), used the last of things without replacing them (we got him a small cheap car and insured it for him so he could easily get to a shop).
He's been made redundant 3 times and seems to think the world owes him something. I don't know anyone his age who hasnt been made redundant at least once and its not as if life has given him any other knocks so I dont get this attitude. I'm just feeling really cross that he didnt say thank you to me or DH. DH has just driven 400 miles to his new accomodation (he's a student) in time for term. No thanks for that either. We're certainly not rich, depite working very hard, and there is no reason for him to take us for granted on that basis!

OpiesOldLady Tue 01-Oct-19 10:58:39

Allowing him to live there rent free when he has ample savings in the bank and buying him a car... well you've just enabled his childlike behaviour.

Yanbu to want a thank you... but really, did you honestly expect one? He sounds like a complete manchild.