Talk

Advanced search

Terrible Two's

(4 Posts)
tiredmumofatoddler Tue 20-Oct-09 14:26:14

Hi all im new to this so apologies if it not done right. I am 5 1/2 months pregnant work 4 out of five days and have a 23 month old baby. MY son just wont sleep, when he does its because me or Daddy lye on the floor beisde his bed and stroke his head till he sleeps this can take up to 1hr or more before he falls into a deep enough sleep for us to crawl out the door. this can happen upto four times a night, when then i let him sleep in our bed while i sleep on the couch. It doesnt matter what time I put him to sleep but recently he is getting really tired by 7pm as he doesnt nap during the day anymore..I am so tired, as everymorning then I have to get up and bring him to creche and then Im into work for nine,, after work then i have to make a healthy dinner for my partner and clean up afterwards, i dont stop until he is in bed and then it all starts again, im at my wits end and have no idea how i am going to cope when I get bigger and then when the baby comes.!! During the day he is a nightmare as he refuses to do anything I ask, he screams ever bappy change and throws a wobbly when ever he doesnt get his own way, I am soooooooooooooooo tired, I was in hospital last week as im having alot of pains they wanted to keep me in but i couldnt as I have to look after my son. any tips please ?????

carocaro Tue 20-Oct-09 18:29:49

The retreat and ignore method, my DS2 is now 2.5 and he was just like your DS at the same age, he would do just as your son is doing.

Do not stay their until he falls asleep, move away a couple of feet and ignore him, the screams the crying the hugging and tell him when he's back in his bed he will get a kiss goodnight, then move even further away. Keep it short, no eye contact, to the point, the same each time

You have got to keep on doing this, you must ignore him, he is reassured you are there but you are giving him no attention.