Talk

Advanced search

Am i overfeeding?

(15 Posts)
carrie1985 Thu 03-Sep-09 03:59:30

HELP!!!!

my mum's driving me insane, she is insisting i overfeeding 9 month DS. he gets a 8oz bottle in the morning then porridge an hour later, 2 little yougurts in afternoon with some jucie and biscotti, for dinner he gets pot of dinner (age appropriate) with more juice, piece of fruit, and dessert. before bed another bottle of milk. She's told my dad now and he's on my case.. Am i overfeeding him? He is a very big boy, he weighed 24lb last month. He hasn't started crawling yet or bum shuffling and has just figured out how to roll over, she thinks i'm overfeeding him and thats why he can't do these things.Is she right?.. Brutal honesty required

There Thu 03-Sep-09 04:39:20

My father was telling me DD1 was overweight from 5 months old (exclusively breastfed, 5 feeds a day - no night feeds).

I'm no doctor, but I don't think you can overfeed a 9-month old - just be happy he enjoys his food. What you're giving him seems pretty normal to me.

pasturesnew Thu 03-Sep-09 05:07:49

No harm in cutting out the biscotti and dessert as these aren't really nutritionally valuable, you might also consider cutting down on the fruit juice as this is pretty sugary. Wouldn't worry about his weight though as it's normal for babies to be a bit chubbier just before they start crawling and then they seem to have a growth spurt at the same time they start moving.

TanteRose Thu 03-Sep-09 05:09:52

Actually I think you CAN overfeed a 9 month old (if they are not exclusively breastfed) - but I don't think the OP has much to worry about yet..
However, I would say, ditch the juice (empty calories) and the dessert (unnecessary).
Consult your GP and when he tells you that everything is fine, you can use this as ammunition against your Mum "Well, the doctor thinks he's fine" wink
Once he starts crawling/walking, he will slim down fast...smile

TanteRose Thu 03-Sep-09 05:10:48