Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Sibling rivalry

(14 Posts)
motherofboys Thu 21-Apr-05 16:17:21

I am new to Mumsnet and joined looking for advice on how to handle rivalry between my boys. As I type i can hear DS1 (9)n have a right go at DS2 (7) because he won't kick the ball exactly the way he wants him to. DS2 has now come in upset and DS1 is kicking his anger out on the ball whilst shouting to anyone who will listen how rubbish his brother is. This is typical and I try really hard to ignore the negative and sympathise with the "victim" but it does not get any easier. The two of them are united in their affections for DS3 (4) but even this gets competitive. Any advice from anyone please?

Kayleigh Thu 21-Apr-05 16:36:35

Oh dear. My ds1 is nearly 7 and my ds2 is nearly 4. This sounds so much like them. I was hoping they'd grow out of it soon .

My two do spend 50% of their time cuddling and playing beautifully but the other 50% they drive each other nuts, call names and generally wind each other up.

Do your boys have times when they do get on ok motherofboys ?

aloha Thu 21-Apr-05 16:39:15

I think I would have some kind of punishment, such as loss of privileges for shouting about his brother being rubbish. I think that's unacceptably unkind. Yes, he can think it, but he can't shout about it. It's not fair.
I think the book Sibling Rivalry/Sibling Love seems good. My two are only 3 and 10 weeks so can't offer any practical help.

motherofboys Thu 21-Apr-05 16:47:30

For about the last half hour before bed they do sometimes play nicely together, but generally it is only if the eldest wants to. I have tried financial rewards/punishments but they don't seem to work for long. Playstation bans work but they are a bit extreme. I have read a book on Sibling Rivalry which talks about focussing on the good and ignoring the bad behaviour but it is very hard. I do quite well but then usually end up loosing my temper!

motherofboys Thu 21-Apr-05 19:17:39