Talk

Advanced search

bad mum?

(11 Posts)
rosiegif Tue 19-Apr-05 16:15:09

I'm quite new to mumsnet and have never posted a message before, but I am so frustrated today and feeling like a really bad mum. My dd is 2 1/2 and she's driving me mad. Up until recently I thought I was doing a fairly good parenting job..she was well behaved and polite, and lovely to be with. Recently though, she has become stroppy and whiney. She is fiercely independent, and won't let me help her with anything..this often results in her getting frustrated and having a tantrum. She won't let me cuddle her much and always seems cross with me. Where am I going wrong?

Pinotmum Tue 19-Apr-05 16:16:39

I think this is the terrible 2's which continue till they leave home I'm told. Does she go to Nursery or Play Group?

rosiegif Tue 19-Apr-05 16:18:59

She goes to a lovely nursery 2 mornings a week. I'm honestly scared to ask them what she is like when she's there...feels like a failure on my part if she's naughty.

desperatehousewife Tue 19-Apr-05 16:20:40

god no - not a failure - just totally normal. I bet you any money she is an absolute angel at nursery. My terror 2.8 year old is the perfect child at nursery and devil incarnate at home. It's not you - she's just testing the boundaries. Don't take it personally./

Pinotmum Tue 19-Apr-05 16:22:55

If there were issues they would speak to you so I bet she is an angel when she's there. I have a 2.6 yo ds and he gets so frustrated at not being able or allowed to do what he has his mind on. He throws himself on the floor and cries and 2 mins later he's all smiles again and I wonder if I imagined it . They are just finding their independance and are on track minded at this age. Just try to distract her onto other things if she's a danger to herself. Is she a good talker? My ds is quite good now and saying what he wants/needs so it's getting a little easier.

rosiegif Tue 19-Apr-05 16:27:47