Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

tips on staying calm please help

(20 Posts)
jen93 Mon 21-Feb-05 10:02:15

i find it very hard to stay calm and to stop myself getting cross with dd when she is screaming the house down but i dont know what the problem is. i am a first time mum so any advice would be greatly aprieciated.

welshmum Mon 21-Feb-05 10:05:23

This might be bleeding obvious but sometimes I decide to 'act' being a patient mum with a quiet voice when inside I'm fuming. 'Are you cross my little darling? Come here and tell mummy why? etc' In an exaggeratedly calm tone. It's weird but this really helps.
Other times I tell mine I'm going to lie on the bed in my room until she's decided it's time to behave resonably.

nailpolish Mon 21-Feb-05 10:08:42

how old is your dd?

jen93 Mon 21-Feb-05 10:13:25

nearly 5 months. i know my problem sounds daft but im new to all this i dont have much experience with babies

NotQuiteCockney Mon 21-Feb-05 10:21:54

Oh, at that age, all you can do is, try anything that might help, and if nothing helps, take a break and try again.

My DS2 is this age but is pretty cheerful - his brother was cranky, and we often found a change of scenery did the trick.

It's certainly not worth getting cross at her (it's never worth getting cross), at this age they're certainly not doing it to wind you up.

FairyMum Mon 21-Feb-05 10:28:06

go to another room and have a break.

nailpolish Mon 21-Feb-05 10:28:34

god, it sounds anything but daft.

i have a checklist i go through when baby is screaming, hungry/tired/cold/hot/dirty/wet nappy/

if none of these i assume baby is fine, just bored, wanting a cuddle.

i find going for a walk if the weather is nice, or if its not, just pacing around the house having a cuddle is fine.