Talk

Advanced search

Hit the wall with being a mum

(13 Posts)
danityrain Thu 21-Aug-08 01:52:15

I realised I am not very good at being a mother. I am not going to say that I am the worst mother in the world (although that's how I feel at the moment) because obviously I am not. I don't neglect or abuse my DS but...I just don't think I am cut out to be a mum. I really thought I would be but I'm not. sad I have a 14 month old DS who I have struggled with since day 1 (actually, that's not true, since about day 14!) He is very independant, not cuddly in the slightest and just seems to want to do his own thing. I have tried to be OK with that (and do recognise that it's a good thing in lots of ways) but I just feel like I give and give and give and get nothing in return. I know this is the definition of being a mother but it seems my DS really couldn't care less if I am around or not. Today it really slapped me in the face just how bad it is. He fell over in the park and grazed his forehead. It wasn't a massively bad fall but obviously he was upset. He totally ignored me, wouldn't even look at me but was desperate to be comforted by a friend of mine who was there. He wanted to sit on her lap, be cuddled by her, be carried by her. He wouldn't leave her alone for about 20 minutes. sad I was trying to laugh it off for the first 5 mins or so but it just went on so long. He really didn't want me at all. I had thought this was just his personality, that he wasn't a needy, cuddly baby but maybe it is me. Maybe I do the wrong things? I try my best, every single day but it just isn't working. I honestly think he would be better off with someone else. Someone who's a more natural mother, who can give him what he needs. I wonder if he would be more attached and cuddly with them? This all sounds trivial I am sure but I am heartbroken.

MKG Thu 21-Aug-08 02:12:21