Talk

Advanced search

Please help me persuade my DH that is it NOT good to leave dd to cry?

(58 Posts)
Caz10 Thu 07-Aug-08 19:37:20

Well not cry cry, but...

I believe based on the very little that I've read that going to dd (8mths) when she is unhappy/needing something/whatever is the best way to build her eventual confidence and self esteem. The problem is I am not very good at explaining this to DH, and he just doesn't get it.

He keeps saying that she needs to learn that she won't be pandered to etc. sad

a silly eg - after he'd fed her the other day he left her in her highchair while he cleared up. She was obviously bored/uncomfortable/whatever so started moaning/crying a little. I would at this point normally lift her and just put her somewhere else eg on the rug with some toys (she's v happy to play independently for a good wee while) and THEN got on with the cleaning up. He thinks she should just wait and not rush to her etc angry. He is going to be doing a good part of the childcare and I REALLY don't want this happening a lot.

Could anyone help by posting a link or even just a succinct explanation of why I'm right?! grin

Or am I wrong?? Am I being very very PFBy here?

LynseyKCalvert Thu 07-Aug-08 20:10:24

I would look up some some psychology studies about Bowlby's Theory of Attachment. It is a theory that is well researched and relied on in child psychology.

Basically a child needs to form a strong attachment with their primary caregiver(s) in order to develop a sense of security and eventually independence. "Pandering" to her needs (even the need for attention) now will in the long run bolster her confidence and create a happy healthy person.

TheCrackFox Thu 07-Aug-08 20:28:31

I would just tell him to shut his trap. Sorry, I'm not being very helpful.

Caz10 Thu 07-Aug-08 20:43:07