Talk

Advanced search

ADHD diagnosis, where to start?

(15 Posts)
MrsCringle Mon 30-Nov-20 09:35:04

Hello,
I’m wondering if anyone could guide me through the initial steps of getting an ADHD diagnosis. Either through the GP or a private assessment, what are the average costs for private?
What treatment is available if you get a diagnosis, preferably non medication?
I have zero experience or knowledge on this, so any information would be gratefully received.

OP’s posts: |
Pumpkinstace Mon 30-Nov-20 09:36:19

For you, or a child?

Approaching your GP for a referral would be a start.

MrsCringle Mon 30-Nov-20 09:42:42

Pumpkinstace

For you, or a child?

Approaching your GP for a referral would be a start.

Apologies, for a child, 8 years old. Yes, GP is first step, but keen to gather as much information as possible beforehand.

papaelf Mon 30-Nov-20 09:47:14

Have you spoken to school?

Jemma2907 Mon 30-Nov-20 09:57:04

Have the school spoke with you? My son was assessed bi-weekly within weeks of starting reception. They've decided to halt assessments now due to improvement but I believe they would have made the referral for extra help if they deemed it necessary.

Lollypopsun Mon 30-Nov-20 10:20:45

Speak to the senco at the school they'll be able to put you in touch with the right people.

MummytoCSJH Mon 30-Nov-20 10:50:54

I'll be honest and say that in my experience (my son was diagnosed extremely young as we are a severe case!) unless you have an extremely extraordinary case you'll be hard pressed to find 'treatment' that is not medication as even if there are some there is no funding. Happy to be told I'm wrong directed to support though, god knows I need it. Medication is a fantastic thing though. Usually in young children school have to refer to get anywhere.

MrsCringle Mon 30-Nov-20 21:34:28