Talk

Advanced search

Picking high school

(15 Posts)
MegCleary Wed 04-Oct-17 18:25:02

New to the UK system & have a question. Do parents pick the school or does the child?

MegCleary Wed 04-Oct-17 19:07:11

Bump

PeasAndHarmony Wed 04-Oct-17 19:18:53

The parent/a complete the high school application form.

What school preferences are put on the form depends on the family, some parents choose, sometimes it's a joint parent/ child decision and sometimes the child chooses.

But ultimately the parent must complete the form.

PeasAndHarmony Wed 04-Oct-17 19:19:25

*parent/s not parent/a!

MegCleary Wed 04-Oct-17 20:15:24

Do the children get a big say usually? (Can you tell this is my first time doing this!)

ohhelpohnoitsa Wed 04-Oct-17 20:24:03

Given thw chance, children will choose based on friendships. Many of the primary school friendships will dissolve or change. The parents should be heavily involved in the decision making based on educational, social, practical and gut feel reasons.

ReinettePompadour Wed 04-Oct-17 20:26:33

If you posted this in education you would have more response.

I've had a few go through high school. My 1st I let her choose because I didn't know any better. She picked it based on really silly stuff and lasted around 6 months before she was having issues and needed moving to another better school.

The others got to say why they preferred x school but ultimately I made the choice of school to put down on the form as I had a better understanding of the system and how knew what would suit my child in the long run.

Children often think no more than a school term ahead. They make choices on whether their friends are going to a school despite those friends not giving a jot about which school my child would be looking at.