Talk

Advanced search

Feel like a bad mum

(14 Posts)
DoIKnowWhatImDoing Wed 17-May-17 23:16:43

Sometimes when I'm talking to other parents or on here, I often see that many parents do more for their child than I do. Not just in taking them out but in terms of behavioural tactics etc or coming up with solutions for problems. I worked as a nursery nurse for years and everyone just expects me to know what I am doing but I don't feel like I do. My routine with them is varied. I find it hard to stick to it everyday. So I'm not very good at implementing it at all and I feel so bad.

JohnLapsleyParlabane Wed 17-May-17 23:18:09

Honestly, give yourself a break. We all feel like that sometimes.

JohnLapsleyParlabane Wed 17-May-17 23:18:14

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

DoIKnowWhatImDoing Thu 18-May-17 12:19:17

Thank you. Sometimes everything just gets on top of me and it's hard to keep my cool

KindraLamb Thu 18-May-17 16:32:14

I feel that you are pressured. Parenting varies and this is all normal.

UserThenLotsOfNumbers Thu 18-May-17 16:49:41

It's about being "good enough". What's important is your children are loved and feel secure - you can have the best routine in the world but that doesn't make you a better parent! Don't be so hard on yourself.

DarkFloodRises Thu 18-May-17 16:53:12

It's often easier to spot solutions to problems when the problems are just words on a screen rather than real live children!

Newtothis11 Fri 19-May-17 01:01:35

Know what you mean - I'm sure all mums feel the same. There's no rule book with this you have to go with what you feel is right at any one point in time.

LordBeefCurtain Fri 19-May-17 01:33:25

I hear you! Reading some of the posts on MN makes me feel like everyone else has got a guide book but I am floundering in the dark!