Talk

Advanced search

Is it me?

(6 Posts)
user1494615613 Fri 12-May-17 20:13:30

Hi
It's my first time of posting so please be gentle with me.
I want to arrange a birthday party for my dd, she will be 5 in August. As I know many parents may be away I asked the father of one of the kids if they were going on holiday. Somehow through Chinese wipers the wife has come to conclusion that we are holding a joint bash. I did try to explain but it has fallen on deaf ears.
I did agree to view a venue in the hope that she would hate it but the opposite happened.
As our children are friends and I do like her (although she is pushy). I don't know her very well and I don't want to offend /hurt her but I have the feeling that I am being swept along.
Nothing has been booked but probably will if I don't do something soon.
Help!

Justmadeperfectflapjacks Fri 12-May-17 20:17:06

Would you be inviting the same dc if you had separate parties? Can make it easier if you share a day / venue!( And cheaper!)
If you had a family party in mind just send her a text saying as you have lots of family it's best you have your own do. .
Text if it's easier than face to face!!

user1494615613 Fri 12-May-17 21:54:08

Yes we would be inviting the same people. Although our dd are different ages. I think it's the worry that she will take over and it will be me paying a 50% share in her dd birthday party.
She has been inviting parents at the school gate at the top of her voice and I don't like that. I don't like rubbing it in that not all the class will be invited.
No venue has been booked, no date arranged etc

BackforGood Sun 14-May-17 19:49:26

Am confused why you discussed venues with her if you don't want to do it confused.
Say something now before you get any deeper in to it.

Also - top tip from me - don't have a party in August, it will end in disappointment. Hold your dd's party before the end of term.

user1494615613 Sun 14-May-17 21:33:29