Talk

Advanced search

13 month old turned into a fussy eater

(6 Posts)
Dottydoodoo Wed 19-Apr-17 19:52:21

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, but I feel that we have gone beyond the weaning stage now.

My DS is just 13 months old, and over the last week or so has suddenly got really fussy over his food. When we started weaning him he was keen to try everything, but he's completely different now! Anything new he gets given he just simply throws on the floor, he won't even try.

I don't know if I'm expecting too much of him and tbh I won't be at all offended if you all think I am. He is my first so I'm new to all this.

At his one year check the HV said he must be eating 'family foods' by now. This is fine and I totally agree but DS doesn't! He will happily gobble up an Ella's kitchen pouch but rejects my homemade offerings. I have tried making food sloppy and bland, have spent ages making things I think he will love but he just won't eat them!

DH says I don't need to worry and that he will eat proper foods when he is older, but I just worry that he isn't getting the right nutrients etc. Last night he had a banana and strawberries for dinner, and tonight half a slice of toast.

Help! Do I just go with the flow and hope that one day he will eat proper foods, or am I going to be buying Ella's kitchen pouches for the rest of my life!

JiltedJohnsJulie Thu 20-Apr-17 18:07:54

My DS would only have smooth purees at this age and the odd bit of finger food. Does your DS have tongue tie by any chance?

Dottydoodoo Sat 22-Apr-17 16:43:18

I don't think he has a tongue tie but I could always ask the HV to check.

I think he might be getting a molar through, which probably isn't helping the situation. Yesterday he refused his favourite Ella's kitchen pouch, he hadn't even had any just pushed it straight away! Then get to lunchtime today when he couldn't get his sandwiches in his mouth fast enough, ate everything on offer and looked as if he could have more.