Talk

Advanced search

2 week old with colic?? Losing the will to live

(43 Posts)
summerfling Sun 09-Apr-17 07:43:27

Someone please help, I'm seriously close to throwing myself off the next available bridge.

My baby who is 2 weeks old has been screaming on and off sonde yesterday afternoon.

He will sleep but no more than a few minutes.

I've swaddled him
Changed his bum
Changed his clothes
Given him a bottle (FF-SMA)

He literally screams, I've had no sleep & im becoming emotionally drained.

Please help me!!

NameChange30 Sun 09-Apr-17 07:49:38

Oh dear flowers for you.
I have no experience myself but I've heard that the Cocoonababy is great for babies with colic. Expensive but could be worth a try?
You could also experiment with different types of formula in case he has any allergies or intolerances and there is one which suits him better?
Do you have a partner and if so is he doing his share so you can have a break? Do you have family who could help?

NameChange30 Sun 09-Apr-17 07:57:31

You might find some of the tips on this thread useful?
www.mumsnet.com/Talk/parenting/2851886-Coping-with-Colic

milkjetmum Sun 09-Apr-17 07:57:57

Colic is awful. With dd1 we found slings, an electric rocker and dummies helped. We used Infacol with every feed, and Gripe water between feeds.

With hindsight she had tongue tie so was probably swallowing air more than most (do you hear clicking when feeding?) and later in life had lactose intolerance, so colief might be worth a try.

If you have a partner or friend who will come round take the time to rest and recharge for the next time. We used to invite friends over and hand them dd1 and tell them to walk around with her talking to her (this seemed to distract her).

duxb Sun 09-Apr-17 07:58:25

So sorry OP.
Yes babies can get colic from two weeks, it's early but it happens.