Talk

Advanced search

Separated parent handover

(12 Posts)
sparkleforce Fri 31-Mar-17 20:09:02

So, I have a 5 year old son who lives with me - his Dad and I separated 4 years ago. His dad comes to pick him up every fortnight on a Friday at 7pm and I collect him on the Sunday late afternoon. 9 out of 10 times my son will go crazy saying he doesn't want to go, he cries and screams and hides. I know his dad tries to have fun with him, keeps him busy and looks forward to seeing him but handing my son over is horrific. He clings on to me for dear life and I feel like the worst person ever handing him over. Does anyone else have to deal with this? From what I've read, a child's thoughts and wishes don't carry any weight until they are about 10. His dad and I get on 'okay' and show no signs of animosity in front of our son. Any advice or experience please...!sadwine

Heirhelp Sat 01-Apr-17 13:29:36

I have no experience of this and DD is much younger but my first thoughts are that he needs to see his Dad more frequently more shorter periods of time.

EweAreHere Sat 01-Apr-17 13:31:35

How is he when he comes home?

Chasingsquirrels Sat 01-Apr-17 13:37:24

Oh I have been there. It is heartbreaking.

Is there any way you can separate the pick up so that you aren't there?

We moved to pick up directly from school where we could so that ds2 didn't have to leave me - which was the problem, not being with his dad.

frigginell Sat 01-Apr-17 14:13:52

More frequently for shorter periods and pick-up from school are both good suggestions.

All three of mine would probably have been very upset with the set up you describe. No matter who was picking them up, they'd rather have stayed with me than gone elsewhere for days with long spells between at that age.

I'm not sure why you mention the courts; would you stop your child from seeing his dad if you could? Have you any reason to think that he is at risk with him?