Talk

Advanced search

Is the Tommee tippee perfect prep machine safe?

(12 Posts)
Annaa123 Fri 10-Mar-17 12:55:09

Not sure if this is the right place to post this but I've been looking into the perfect prep machine for a while. Whilst I was comparing prices I came across a video stating it's not actually safe after a few uses, link below:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/1pW6XFkDmSd1S19VVCY1TK/tommee-tippee

This has confused me though as majority of customer reviews are really good and no mention of the water not being safe.

I'm currently pregnant with my first so no experience. Really undecided whether to get one now as they aren't cheap and don't want to waste money.

Any advice/opinions on this please?

Zoe1983 Fri 10-Mar-17 13:07:31

I work in healthcare around newborns and have seen lots with diarrhoea when parents have been using the Prep. As soon as I have recommended they go back to making up bottles the "traditional" way, the baby got better. Google perfect prep mould and you'll see why. They don't even use boiled water, so much won't kill bacteria. If you still decide to get one, I'd boil your water first.

Annaa123 Fri 10-Mar-17 13:26:16

Thank you for the reply, I had a feeling that would be the case, I think I would feel safer without it

Goldfishing Fri 10-Mar-17 13:59:58

If you keep it clean, there won't be a problem.

Bottles aren't meant to be made up with boiling water btw, it should be at least 70 degrees, but not boiling.

Annaa123 Fri 10-Mar-17 15:12:15

Goldfishing do you mean regularly changing the filter or giving it a full clean?

divadee Fri 10-Mar-17 15:33:38

We have the perfect prep and it is amazing for us. We use cooled boiled water to fill it up and have done research on it after what people have said and we were happy.

The watchdog story was a non story in my eyes. When the Dr said as much.

Do your research and make your decision based on that.

No diarrhoea here either.

MissJC Fri 10-Mar-17 15:48:10