Talk

Advanced search

Stains on children's clothing

(6 Posts)
Sjane11 Wed 01-Feb-17 22:28:02

Hello I am a textiles student at university in my final year. I would like to design a clothing collection for babies & toddlers that will be sustainable by disguising stains through use of pattern and colour. I will be using a luxury yarn to knit the garments with, then it will be treated with a stain resistant treatment.

Anyway I am just wondering if some parents could please give me some feedback on these three questions:
Where abouts do stains commonly appear on your child's clothing, is it on the chest or knee area etc?
How did the stain occur, Is it through messy play, eating or falling etc?
Was the stain easy to remove or did you just throw the item of clothing out afterwards?

I have a daughter myself and I know that stains can be a nuisance. I would really appreciate it if I could get some answers to my questions from other parents in order to inform my research and base my collection on real life facts regarding stains on children's clothing.

Thanks

user1477282676 Wed 01-Feb-17 22:31:50

Great idea. Cuffs and chest....when they're toddlers...they get food in those areas.

Knees and bottoms....for me it's mainly food when they were small but now I have an 8 year old who plays outside a LOT and she tears the knees of her trousers all the time. So I'd also like toughened knees. grin

user1477282676 Wed 01-Feb-17 22:32:42

Oh, re. removing stains...some stains just won't come out. Some mud and bannana are HARD to get out. I tend to soak in cold water and if that doesn't work I either keep the clothing for messy play or throw it away.

TwatteryFlowers Wed 01-Feb-17 22:36:37

Where abouts do stains commonly appear on your child's clothing, is it on the chest or knee area etc? Some stains on the chest area, some on the cuffs but mainly on the knees.