Talk

Advanced search

So hard

(5 Posts)
Gape1211a Tue 27-Dec-16 19:18:01

I'm new to Mumsnet so here goes.

I have 2 dd's, one is 5 years old and the newest one is 5 weeks. I am finding it so hard juggling between the two. I love more 5 year old dearly but all I do is snap and shout at her because I am so tired, horrible to the point she now wants her Dad more than me.

What also makes it hard is I think 5 week old as silent reflux so wants to be held all the time which is ok when her dad isn't at work. Dad/ partner works shifts, he is on nights tonight. I've been anxious all day.

Just feel like I can't cope for much longer.

Is there anyone else who's partner works shifts? How do you manage?

Phoenix76 Wed 28-Dec-16 00:15:36

Hello Gape! It does get easier! You're doing great. I made some great mum friends when I just had dd1 (too knackered to go now!) but we've kept in touch. They've gone on to have their second and confess they are in tears most days at the sheer exhaustion of it all! There is no doubt, it is hard work! You're currently enjoying one of the hardest phases and you're certainly not alone, many tears will be shed right as we speak. Dd2 is 10 months old (dd1 is 3.5) and I'm here to tell you to hang on in there it does get more managable. Dd1 was the same, just wanted daddy for everything but now she's back to wanting us both, mainly because I am now, finally getting more precious sleep! Just take one day at a time, have a cry in private if it helps, and know this is a phase. Good luck and hugs x

Chattycat78 Wed 28-Dec-16 08:09:09

Not the same age gap and dh