Ferber vs Sears

(23 Posts)
HoneyJoon Thu 03-Nov-16 20:00:03

I'm brand new to MumsNet, but have read numerous posts while awake with my daughter at 3am... so, here I am asking for a little advice!...
My baby is currently 5 months old and has always been a very particular little girl. She decided from her 3rd week earthside that she would no longer be happy to sleep anywhere but on me. I made the decision at the time that I wanted to give her everything she needed to make her feel secure right from the get go, and have been doing just that every day ever since. She has 3-4 naps on me per day and I spend an hour and a half (at least) holding her at night before she will even let me think about putting her down in her co-sleeper. It's pretty draining and leaves me with no time to do anything for myself/my partner. This was fine for a while, but now the I'm starting to struggle. On top of that, she wakes up 6-8 times every night and wants to be breastfed back to sleep. Because of this, she always ends up in our bed. I am exhausted. πŸ˜•πŸ‘Ž
I have, until this point, always considered myself to be in the Sears camp. I have tried every gentle method going to attemp to put my baby down to sleep. Nothing works. She either screams holy hell or her sleep is cut short and she quickly becomes overtired. The way things are at the moment - she is getting around 13 hrs of sleep per 24 hrs and I'm getting 3-4. It's just not sustainable any more.
So... I started researching sleep training. Now, I am starting to consider the using the gradual extinction technique (no abuse please!) because I am so drained. However, I'm pretty terrified! Without a doubt I am now obsessing over what to do and could really do with a bit of advice/support.
Has anyone successfully managed to turn a situation like mine around using a gentle method? If so, please let me know. Equally, if anyone is pro-Ferber and have a baby like mine, I am all ears!
Thanks Mama's! 😘