Baby led weaning - fear of choking

(13 Posts)
Cookies77 Fri 02-Sep-16 21:15:35

Hello

My baby is 7.5 months old and I've been doing BLW since she was 6 months. She doesn't eat a lot but when she does eat, she gags a LOT. I've seen other babies gag and normally its a small gag which doesn't phase them and they carry on eating. With my baby she has big, long gags and her eyes go watery and red rimmed afterwards and sometimes she vomits. She also looks panicky and doesn't want to carry on eating afterwards. I find this very scary to watch and I'm anxious about every meal time (even though I make an effort not to show it) especially if other people are with us. I know people say not to worry and its normal, but I (stupidly) googled about babies choking on food and have read some extremely sad articles about babies and toddlers that have died recently. I love the theory behind BLW but at the moment I feel really stressed about it all and not sure what to do! Can anyone help?

Vinorosso74 Fri 02-Sep-16 22:02:02

Firstly, remember a baby's gag reflex is a lot further forward than that of an adult.
Have you done an infant first aid course? Not that you're likely to need it but it might help you feel less anxious and useful.
Try not to google! I think a lot of these things are where babies or toddlers have eaten inappropriate foods eg. whole grapes, cherry tomatoes, marshmallows.
My DD ate loads for the first 2 weeks of BLW, then randomly ate bits until about 8 months when she really got going.

RiverTam Fri 02-Sep-16 22:06:55

Honestly? That sounds pretty wretched for your child and nothing bad will happen to them if you decide to stop doing BLW. The theory behind it is just that - theory.

FATEdestiny Fri 02-Sep-16 22:12:53

It doesn't have to be all of nothing. You could, for example, give something in toast for breakfast, spoonfed puree followed by soft fruit at lunchtime then bits of your dinner followed by spoonfed yoghurt for evening meal.