Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

What age did you start giving pocket money hand how much?

(10 Posts)
broccoliflowers Sun 17-Jul-16 18:43:33

Just that smile

My son is 3.5 and become very aware of using pennies from his piggy bank to buy the odd toy he's been desperate for (I've been emptying random piles of dh's change into it for a couple of years blush)

I feel it needs a little more structure and also to sort of teach the idea of saving up in order to buy something he'd really like.

Just wondering if it's too young? - we are just finding it difficult to constantly argue the toss for toys in supermarkets/ what boundaries there should be (ideally hardly ever getting a toy from a super market). "Run out of pennies today" makes sense to him now.

He's really very good at accepting "maybe for your birthday/ Christmas" except they're 14 days apart so it's a long time to wait! Thinking of asking for Xmas money this year (held back) so he can choose to spend on toys he's moved on to later in the year? Half the things he got for Xmas he has possibly grown out of. (Brio trains) Others he's really into. (Play mobile)

I do cringe at piles of expensive useless plastic too, so to sort of help him learn to value things he really wants rather than tonnes of commercial crap ignores a few paw patrol pups recently acquired

Coconut0il Sun 17-Jul-16 22:57:04

DS1 was about 10. It only really happened because he started to ask for lots of expensive clothes/trainers/xbox games and it was getting a bit ridiculous. He used to ask for toys and things if we went out when he was younger but it was never too bad. He's very good at saving now and only occasionally asks for an advance.
With DS2 (11 months) I'll probably start younger, think it is good for them to learn to save and think about what they really want.

Coconut0il Sun 17-Jul-16 22:58:29

Forgot to say DS1 got £10 a week at 10, he's 12 now and gets £12 a week.

ShelaghTurner Sun 17-Jul-16 23:10:02