Talk

Advanced search

If you're a stay at home mum???

(17 Posts)
Saphwoodman Mon 18-Jan-16 18:17:55

This is a question for those that are sahm to children/babies that aren't of school age. How often a week/month do you take them out? Not to the park but say to do an activity like play farm, play centre, aquarium etc

TurnOffTheTv Mon 18-Jan-16 18:19:18

3/4 times a week. Dancing/baby gym/soft play/young farmers.

SpendSpendSpend Mon 18-Jan-16 18:20:18

Never

UmbongoUnchained Mon 18-Jan-16 18:21:28

Everyday. I feel really guilty if I don't take her out.

ExasperatedAlmostAlways Mon 18-Jan-16 18:24:03

It varies, this week he's starting nursery so we won't be out as much because hel be shattered getting use to it. But are going to soft play on Thursday morning and meeting my other friend tomoro but yet to text to decide what we are doing. Maybe swimming.

NotWithoutMyMerkin Mon 18-Jan-16 18:24:24

I think age of children will make a difference to the answers. As a baby I wasn't bothered if we didn't go out. Now with a 22 month year old we go out every day - sometimes just to the shops but otherwise park/dance class/toddler group/farm/park or playground

FelixFelix Mon 18-Jan-16 18:25:11

Hardly ever. We go to play group 4 times a week, and she goes to the childminder for one morning a week who sometimes takes her to soft play or animal farm type places. At the weekend we always end up running errands (DP uses the car through the week for work so I don't have access to it until the weekend) or going to the park etc.

MoreGilmoreGirls Mon 18-Jan-16 18:25:49

We go out 4 mornings a week to various classes and he goes to nursery one morning as well.

Catphrase Mon 18-Jan-16 18:32:27

Everyday. I don't do playgroups.
But farms, parks, nature reserves, soft play, museums, zoos, national trust places, food shopping, garden centres.
We have a lovely time. I take lunch and a flask of coffee. I've got memberships where I can as well.

MiddleClassProblem Mon 18-Jan-16 19:54:52

Once or twice then out both weekend days

nephrofox Mon 18-Jan-16 20:00:56

I don't stay in more than 2 days a week (unless poorly or whatever)

ceeveebee Mon 18-Jan-16 20:03:06

I only SAH two days a week but we go out all the time on those days - at least to the park, also music classes, swim lessons, story time at the library etc. Also we live near a nice NT park so we go there quite a lot, also at weekends with DH too

RatOnnaStick Mon 18-Jan-16 20:04:31

pre nursery we were at the local farm park most weeks, Playgroup once a week, swimming class every friday and filled in the gaps with friends/ducks/woods etc. Now he's at preschool 3 sessions a week once we've met family and playgroup too and schoolruns for my older child there's very little time left for other activities on a weekly basis so they happen here and there according to arrangements with other friends really.

seabeer Mon 18-Jan-16 20:08:36

5-7 days a week. Usually to museums, galleries, shopping, tourist attractions etc, or visiting family. We live in London so there's always something new to do. Prefer to do it with just me and DD so don't tend to meet up with other mums.

Kim82 Mon 18-Jan-16 20:10:00

I'm at home with my youngest who is 18 months old. I take her to playgroup once a week and maybe to soft play or swimming once a week too. We do get out of the house most days but mainly to places like the supermarket, family's houses, etc.

Fairylea Mon 18-Jan-16 20:11:21

Twice a week ds has nursery and then the other days we do something each day- visit grandparents, go to the shops, the park, soft play, garden centres, etc etc. My little one is 3.7 and has special needs and he gets very restless if we don't do something every day. His favourite thing to do is to go to the park and then have a tuna sandwich roll in subway and a cookie!

GrouchyKiwi Mon 18-Jan-16 20:15:09

Rarely. I'm pregnant with DC3 at the moment, and I don't drive (yet; have started lessons) so I'm too tired to take them out. Plus the weather is horrible right now anyway.

They enjoy going outside at home; we've only been in our house for 6 months and I think it's still a bit of a novelty to have a garden with sandpit etc.

When I have my licence we'll do more, but mostly visiting friends with similar aged children who live in other parts of the city.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now