Talk

Advanced search

Is 2016 the year to ttc no2 or is it too soon? Advice on sibling spacing.

(19 Posts)
Blondie87 Thu 07-Jan-16 10:12:56

Hi there,

I have a lovely DS who is eight months old. He's a live wire and I adore him. However, I'd be lying if I said I found the first few weeks/months easy. I'd like another child but I can't decide when to start ttc. Obviously I have no experience parenting a toddler so I don't know how I'd find having a newborn with an older baby/toddler. I'd love advice and to hear different perspectives on age gaps between siblings. I'm swaying towards aiming for a 2ish year gap but I know that even the best made plans are out of our control to some extent when ttc! I'll list what I perceive to be advantages and disasvanges of a smaller gap:
Advantages/motivations:
-Took me 9months to conceive DS (could take as long if not longer for no 2)
-I'd love them to have a close sibling relationship
-Go through similar life stages together
-As they get older, they would enjoy similar activities and family days out.
-The expense of nursery fees would be intense but over a shorter period.
-I have had DS in mid-20s (much younger than most of my peers from uni) so want to be relatively young when both DC are more independent.
-focus more on my career when dcs are both at school. Already quite well established.

Disadvantages:
-coping with 2 under 2 or 3
-giving enough attention to each child.
-if I waited until DS was at school or entitled to free childcare I'd have more time with dc2.
-would have more friends with children the same age.
-just got my body back after pregnancy and breast feeding and would be back to square one with everything!

Thank you if you can share your experiences or comment on this.

jeavcike Thu 07-Jan-16 14:14:00