Talk

Advanced search

3 YO DD with smelly groin

(19 Posts)
RockCrushesLizard Tue 01-Dec-15 18:06:14

My DD has a bit of a smelly vagina/vulva area at the end of each day.

It's a bit pink, but not abnormally I don't think. She says it isn't sore or itchy, and there's no discharge, no problem with weeing.
She is in cotton pants during the day, and a nappy overnight. Bathed each night, previously just in water, but I started using in perfumed soap - it hasn't seemed to make it worse or better.

Is this normal? It's not a horrid smell, but a bit belly buttony, and I'm not experienced enough in the ways of small girls to know...

RockCrushesLizard Tue 01-Dec-15 20:06:41

Hopeful bump?

Ellsbells32 Tue 01-Dec-15 20:10:03

I hope you get an answer because my little one is like that. I now use proper vaginal soap that's pH neutral. It seems to be worse if she has a couple of accidents and I think it's because she slightly wees herself and the smell is from that. She isn't in nappies at night and I don't put any knickers on her

TheOnlyColditz Tue 01-Dec-15 20:11:40

Stop using perfumed soap, it's not good for her privates. I would shift the bath to the morning, so she starts each day fresh and soaked in nappy wee.

RockCrushesLizard Tue 01-Dec-15 20:17:09

Sorry, that should have read unperfumed soap - the thought of a perfumed one is making me itch just imagining it!

Morning bath could be the way forward, though I suspect she'll fight it!

Ellsbells- glad I'm not the only one! It has only developed since she's been out of nappies in the day, so could be pee/wiping related

RockCrushesLizard Tue 01-Dec-15 21:15:45

Anybody else have any ideas?

Fugghetaboutit Tue 01-Dec-15 21:17:15

What product do you use?

pookamoo Tue 01-Dec-15 21:17:52

We use reusable wipes in the bathroom for a "bottom wash". Just a pile of flannels that go straight into the laundry. I just use warm water on them, for DDs 7 and 4 - it is usually just because of poor wiping.