Talk

Advanced search

Husband working away, having effect on DS behaviour - please help!!!

(8 Posts)
phoenixrose314 Sun 22-Nov-15 20:25:34

My DH works for a company who work mostly on contracts, the work has dried up so they're sending him away Monday til Friday every week til at least Christmas to do some skivvy work. He hasn't got the option to tell them he can't do it.

He's been doing this for four weeks now and it's had a huge impact on our DS. He's 2 years eight months and going through the usual struggles of a toddler finding their own independence, but suddenly the usual daily challenges are every five minutes. He cries and shouts over every little thing that doesn't go the way he expects it to; his favourite word is "NO"; he has begun hitting, kicking and once he even bit me; he has even begun being rude to members of staff at nursery. I am in pieces. Not only am I trying to fulfil both parental roles but I work full time as a teacher and I am struggling to hold it all together. When my DH does come home, my DS reacts negatively to him most of the time and clings to me and whines and cries whenever I even leave the room.

Please, somebody help me, give me advice, tell me what to do, I feel like I'm failing my son and I don't know how to cope. I've talked to my DH about it but I can't tell him how bad it really is because he feels guilty enough as it is that he has to work away, I don't want to make it worse for him.

Has anyone else had to deal with DH working away and the effect on their child? Any tips on coping strategies..... please confused

RachelZoe Sun 22-Nov-15 22:24:58

You do need to tell him how bad it is, but in a non confrontational and neutral way. He needs to help you with this when he is home so must be on the same page.