Talk

Advanced search

Dd's fear of putting her face in water

(10 Posts)
haveabreakhaveakitkat Sat 01-Aug-15 14:24:00

Dd is 8 and has been having swimming lessons for 4 months. Her fear of putting her face in the water is holding her back. Her teacher tries every week, and is very patient, but as soon as dd's nose touches the water she brings her head back up. I've tried getting her to do it in the bath but she does the same thing. She's ok with water running down her face in the shower - it's just actually submerging her face that's the problem. She has goggles and holds her nose. Any tips?

MyFriendsCallMeOh Sat 01-Aug-15 14:46:18

I am a swimming teacher and have helped several children through this. It takes time and lots of patience! Ask your dd to cup her hands and hold water in them. Can she bring the water in her hands to her face and blow bubbles in it? Wash her face with the water? Encourage her to blow bubbles whenever her face / nose is in water, whether its running down her face in the shower or in cupped hands. I suspect she may have had water up her nose before, which won't help her reticence to put her face in water, but blowing bubbles will prevent this happening. Try to get her in the bubble habit.

Once she can put her face in cupped hands of water, see if she can do the same in an ice cream tub of water (starting small, can you see where we're going with this?!) Get her to blow bubbles. See if she can just touch the tip of her nose to the water. Can she put just her chin in? With small children, I get them to imagine it's their favourite ice cream.... Go bit by bit. Can she put in her forehead and keep her nose dry? Eventually she will be able to put her face in. Let her hold her nose if she wants to but see if she can manage without.