Talk

Advanced search

Sling advice

(11 Posts)
pinkie1982 Mon 20-Jul-15 11:44:42

I have a 7 week old baby, born at 34w. I want to get a sling but have no idea what sort to try! Can I have some suggestions/experiences please?
TIA xx

MrsLeoTolstoy Mon 20-Jul-15 12:51:24

Congratulations. I loved carrying my babies. Start of with a stretchy wrap that you can tie round you and pop baby into. Then it's up to preference really. I used a ring sling and a Boba 4G once DD2 was bigger. They were/are brilliant even in toddler years.

Roseybee10 Mon 20-Jul-15 12:54:46

I love my close caboo.

badg3r Mon 20-Jul-15 14:08:29

Go to a sling library and try some out. I love my beco soleil, our ds didn't even go in a pram till he was a month old and I still prefer that sling now (currently 9kg baby). We've also got a ring sling, outward facing baby Bjorn type thing (harder on the back) and mai tei that folds up very small. Have fun!

Millionprammiles Mon 20-Jul-15 14:14:27

Second the rec to try some out at a sling library. Am very glad I did that. The only sling I really got on with was the Moby wrap. Really comfy and easy to use.

eaiand2 Mon 20-Jul-15 14:28:56

I'd definitely recommend wrapping! Try a stretchy wrap at first with one for little, then wovens when bigger. It takes a bit of practice to get the hang of it, but if you start before they get too wriggly it's easy!

minipie Mon 20-Jul-15 21:07:39

I have a close caboo and a Beco Gemini. The Caboo is great for newborns (stretchy and cosy like a wrap but but much easier to learn to use) but not so good when they get heavy IME. The Beco is fab - so comfy and well made, - but not sure how it would be for a tiny baby.

Check the weight requirements carefully if your DD is small - the close caboo is one of the few suitable for babies under 7 or 8lb.

DanyStormborn Mon 20-Jul-15 21:11:24