Talk

Advanced search

First day alone with toddler and newborn

(38 Posts)
OneFlewOverTheMumsNest Sun 12-Jul-15 22:18:54

Tomorrow will be my first full day alone with 3yo and almost 3wo dd's. DD2 is a voracious feeder. I have a sling but I haven't mastered the art of feeding in it yet. Any hints and tips as to how to survive!?

mumofboyo Sun 12-Jul-15 23:20:13

break the day into chunks of time so that you only have to get through breakfast, then until lunchtime, then you only have to get to teatime and then, finally, only so many hours until bedtime. It's easier than thinking, 'Only 9 hours until bedtime!'

freezer meals, ready meals and sandwiches for you and toddler

hot drinks in a flask so at least it'll stay warmer for longer

try to get out if poss so your toddler can have a run around (doesn't have to be anywhere great - a walk around the block might help)

TV/iPad/books/special toys for the toddler when you're feeding the baby - keep him/her occupied as long as possible so he/she's not climbing all over you

try to keep your toddler in their routine as much as you can but don't worry if things go tits up for a few days - a new routine will soon emerge

when both cry at the same time, go go the toddler first because they need to feel wanted and important - at least for the first few weeks anyway

drop your standards re the housework but try, if you can, to tidy up as you go so the house isn't a huge tip by the end of the day

try to get ready before your dh/dp leaves in the morning - that way, you're not still in your PJs by bedtime

keep the changing bags topped up and stocked by the door so that you can just grab it on the way out - makes getting out of the house take a bit less time

good luck - I'm sure you'll be fine. It's tiring but you'll soon settle into a routine and it'll be 2nd nature thanks brew

OneFlewOverTheMumsNest Mon 13-Jul-15 07:31:29

Great tips, thanks. Especially like the idea of breaking the day into chunks of time.