Advanced search

What's for lunch today? Take inspiration from Mumsnetters' tried-and-tested recipes in our Top Bananas! cookbook - now under £10

Find out more

Anybody made their own wipes?

(24 Posts)
Discopanda Sun 11-Jan-15 17:19:28

DD2 is due in April and I'm considering making my own reusable baby wipes out of fabric because we managed to get through at least a pack a week when DD1 was young. Has anyone tried doing this and is the extra effort worth it?

DeladionInch Sun 11-Jan-15 17:29:48

I've been using poundshop microfibre flannels for nearly 2 years now and they're fab. Just bung them in with the nappy wash smile

Fleece gets a bit smeary of poo apparently. An old towel is good but will shed for weeks unless you overlock very thoroughly.

Reckon I've saved a quid a week minimum over one baby. So worth it to me!

ch1134 Sun 11-Jan-15 19:52:07

Yes it's worth it, but as baby gets older and poos get nastier we switched to normal wipes (which can be washed and reused too actually!), and use the reusables for mealtimes.
Just cut a flannel in half/ quarters. I used camomile tea, but there are loads of other 'recipes' online. Just google it.

callamia Sun 11-Jan-15 19:53:48

I just shove the regular wipes in the wash with the nappies. We can bin the really stinky ones, but the wet ones come out great and entirely reusable for ages. You can see why they clog up sewer systems.

sofatastic Sun 11-Jan-15 19:55:22

Yes. For bottoms I like velour one side and bamboo the other. For faces fleece and bamboo worked best. Don't feel constrained by the sizes and shapes of disposable wipes either.

BikeRunSki Sun 11-Jan-15 19:56:54

I just used those multipacks of flannels from Ikea.

DeladionInch Sun 11-Jan-15 19:58:26

i have ikea ones for faces and they're stained and ragged sad

pookamoo Sun 11-Jan-15 20:01:52