Talk

Advanced search

Working full time with young children

(14 Posts)
mommathatwearspink Fri 02-Jan-15 09:38:26

I am due back to work on Monday after 12 months off on maternity leave with my DD who was born in April. I am also a part time student.

I am not too worried about going back as I have already done some KIT days and I am really happy with our choice of nursery for DD.

I submitted a flexible working request to reduce my hours which was declined and therefore I have to return on my full time hours. I will be leaving the house at 7:30am and getting back in at 6pm. DP gets in at 4:30pm, he is unable to pick DD up from nursery (company vehicle) but could get dinner ready or do some chores.

I am just looking for some advice from anyone else who works full time with small children. What is your routine? How do you fit everything in?

Artandco Fri 02-Jan-15 11:01:17

First I would really try and find a way your dh can collect baby at 4.30pm. Could he get a bike with baby seat and cycle? Or surely just call into nursery on way back in company car is ok? ( could keep car seat at nursery). This would mean he could spend hour extra each day playing with baby/ giving bath etc, as well as prepping for dinner so when you home you can all sit down to eat at 6.30pm without rushing about thinking you need to be with baby/ bath etc

At the nursery I would ask them to make sure she has 2 decent length naps. You don't want her super miserable on collection as exhausted. Then you can do bedtime around 8pm after all eaten together and some quiet time with her.

We have both always worked full time and have x2 children ( age 3 and 4). We have always found it easier to have later bedtime (9pm ish here), and just give longer naps in day if needed. Eldest now at school so sleeps 9pm-8am, youngest the same but with 90min daytime nap.