Talk

Advanced search

Am I lazy or just a new mum?

(15 Posts)
devoncustard Wed 26-Nov-14 18:36:57

I'm a first time mum to the most gorgeous DD. She's 8 weeks old. I love her beyond measure and we are getting on with bf okay. Every day is a learning curve.

My OH and I work as a team really well most of the time. He's great with DD. However, we are both self employed which means I'm only bringing in Maternity Allowance at the moment. OH works from home and because of his dyslexia I often help his businesses with admin etc. I'm finding it really difficult to help as and when he needs it, due to being tired and trying to look after DD.

He's a good man (the best) but I don't think he understands how much energy she takes. I never 'sleep when she sleeps', because I would feel guilty, yet I still don't feel like I'm doing enough. He's called me lazy and work shy but I feel like he's just frustrated - we need to make some money!

I guess I want to know what 'normal' is with an 8 week old. Is he right to expect more from me? Thanks x

Minithemoocher Wed 26-Nov-14 18:40:39

Your only job at the moment is to look after you and your lovely dd.
I run my own business and have a 13 week old dd, but I've hardly managed to do anything really. Take it easy and tell your dp to do one!

aroha77 Wed 26-Nov-14 18:54:01

Wow at 8 weeks I definitely wasn't doing any work, and I think my husband was still doing all the cooking too! You can't underestimate the impact of tiredness and it's hard to explain to others xx

Highlove Wed 26-Nov-14 19:10:17

Sorry but he doesn't sound like he's being the best at the moment. He sounds like he's being a bit of an arse. Lazy and work-shy? Jeez.