Talk

Advanced search

Do you buy parents a drink when hosting a kids party?

(26 Posts)
redmimi Sat 22-Nov-14 23:37:58

Hi, we're having dds 4th birthday party at a soft play centre and as I'm new to all this I don't know what the etiquette is. Will parents expect a drink? If not will it be a welcome gesture or appear over the top? Any tips welcome!

IDontDoIroning Sat 22-Nov-14 23:40:54

No I never did for my dc parties -and I never expected it when I was a guest (or rather oarent of guest)

NetballHoop Sat 22-Nov-14 23:42:28

God no. Let them eat some of the left over sandwiches but that's it.

If it was at your house then I'd offer tea and coffee.

ReallyBadParty Sat 22-Nov-14 23:43:54

I did, though dd was younger. I think it's a nice thing to do.

mamababa Sat 22-Nov-14 23:45:14

No. They get their own. If it was at my house then yes, but not at soft play

itiswhatitiswhatitis Sat 22-Nov-14 23:51:03

I always do but I certainly don't expect others to do the same. So I think you're fine not to.

BackforGood Sat 22-Nov-14 23:51:56

No. If they choose to stay, they look out for themselves.

Finola1step Sat 22-Nov-14 23:52:56

Yes, first cup of tea or coffee. After that, they're in their own.

Only1scoop Sat 22-Nov-14 23:53:35

Yes just one

Finola1step Sat 22-Nov-14 23:54:52

Should add. Only for pre school birthday party where it's expected that a parent would stay (especially in a v busy soft play place). Once they start school, it's kiss goodbye, drop and run.

ZenNudist Sat 22-Nov-14 23:56:06

I had a party at a place which offered unlimited tea or coffee for adults for a quid pr child, so I did that.

Don't bother at soft play parties. Adults can get their own cuppa .

number1daddy Sun 23-Nov-14 00:04:09

I've always been offered tea whether it was a party at playgroup, soft play areas and so on. It's a small touch but makes a big difference.

Viviennemary Sun 23-Nov-14 00:07:47