Talk

Advanced search

Three nephews lost their mum: what to say

(5 Posts)
Onionpeeler Mon 03-Nov-14 00:32:57

Hi Mumsnetters,

My SIL died unexpectedly leaving behind her three sons (11, 10 and 7). Her funeral is this week.

I am really close to my nephews and love them to bits. What shall I say to them? I'm not looking forward to the funeral as I think it will be very upsetting for them. My brother isn't really communicating with me (he never does) so I have no idea how to handle the situation.

Any advice?

Thanks.

Delphine31 Mon 03-Nov-14 00:37:58

Sorry for your loss.

I'm not very good at these things, but the one thing that occurs to me is that it might be very valuable for them to know that you are there for them, if they want to talk, or if they want to come to your house to chill out.

In a situation like this, I can only imagine that children need sympathy and understanding, but also a bit of normality. So if they usually come to your place for tea, or if you sometimes take them out for the day, keep that up so that they have a break from the grief.

I'm sure someone who has more experience of this sort of situation will be along shortly and be able to give more useful advice.

HerrenaHarridan Mon 03-Nov-14 01:02:48

Don't put pressure in yourself to day the words that make it better. No one can do that.

Tell them you love them.

Don't ever shy away from talking about their mum around them like their personal tragedy is somehow dirty.

Tell them that you're home is their home and that there will always be space for them there.

Have them over all together so their poor father can grieve in peace

Have the over individually so they can grieve in peace.

Listen to them, it's not what you say it's how you respond that really matters

I'm sorry for your loss.

Givemecaffeine21 Mon 03-Nov-14 11:12:49