Talk

Advanced search

Working or staying at home

(10 Posts)
sunshinemeg Mon 17-Feb-14 10:35:53

I am posting this here and in education as I am a teacher.

I am due to give birth this week, and last night was discussing return to work with OH.
I have requested that my school gives me a 4 day a week timetable, but have told OH that I want our DD to be in child care on the 5th day so that I can spend it catching up on marking and planning. I envisage needing to stay at work until 5 every day, then home to DD. If I don't have the 5th day for work I would then have to spend from after dinner/bedtime until 10pm every night working. Plus time at the weekend. If I have the 5th day I won't need to do that more than occasionally.

DH says we can't do this as my salary would match child care costs. He says if that's the case I should give up work altogether.

What do I do?

fancyanotherfez Mon 17-Feb-14 10:42:22

I work on an hourly paid contract, 3 days a week. I have no M & P time when I am at school. That was my choice, but I am finding it very difficult. I have to do all the M & P at home as well as all the other nonsense admin stuff being demanded of us. Are you sure your salary won't cover childcare costs? For one child, it was about half my salary as a teacher. Some schools give their staff money towards childcare costs. Have you looked into childcare vouchers? Also, the pension is a benefit (which is still very good) that you won't get if you stay at home. I think you need to look longer term. Are you sure he would not just rather have you staying at home?

sunshinemeg Mon 17-Feb-14 10:58:09

That's some things we really hadn't considered, Thankyou!
The pension is important and I had totally forgotten about it! Same with the tax credits!
DH is very supportive, he would be happy for me to stay at work if it's something I wanted, but he knows how at times I struggle with the workload.
It is now something to reassess. Thankyou!!!

lechers Mon 17-Feb-14 11:19:51