Talk

Advanced search

Worried. First Period after Birth / Breastfeeding

(13 Posts)
Hollybobs21 Wed 12-Feb-14 21:52:49

Hello

This is my first time posting on here so please bear with me!!
I have always found the threads so useful though, throughout my pregnancy and after my LO's birth.
I was just wondering if anyone could reassure me?

My DS is 5 1/2 months old. He has always been EBF.
He has begun solids now, since he was 4 months but he is still breastfeeding just as much as he always did.
The solids are just a bonus to his feeds really.
He still has a feed in the night, at about 4.30am.
Basically his breastfeeding routine has not changed.

Today I had my first period since birth, well pregnancy! It's been well over a year!! And it's a full-on one!!

I'm just feeling really worried. I know it probably sounds really stupid.
It's just that I'm concerned that my milk is lessening off and therefore DS is not getting sufficient from me.
Has my period returned as the feeding is now not so efficient?
I really don't feel ready to stop breastfeeding him yet. My Mum breastfed me for 9 months as well as solids and I want the same for my LO.
I had been told by my doctor that my period would not return while I was breastfeeding and other sources seem to say the same thing.
I'm feeling really inadequate to be honest, if this is the case.
It's the first time I've felt low. sad

Is it possible for a period to return and it have nothing to do with / no effect on milk production/breastfeeding??

Any advice, experience, words of wisdom welcomed...

Many thanks in anticipation xx

Showy Wed 12-Feb-14 21:58:04

Periods tend to stay away while breastfeeding if you are feeding on demand with no big gaps between feeds (no more than about 6 hours gap iirc), no sleeping through the night, no dummies etc. Going just 6hrs without feeding can trigger ovulation. Most women find that their period return at some point while still breastfeeding.

But there is no hard and fast rule.