Talk

Advanced search

Did/does anyone else experience this?

(14 Posts)
karinmaria Sun 12-May-13 03:17:12

Hello all, I'm a newbie here on mumsnet and a first time mum. My DS is 5 weeks old and and we seem to be doing ok (ish) so far.

I'm concerned I'm not changing him at the right time and wonder if I could have some advice. I'm changing him after a feed (he's formula fed, he hated the boob) but this means, even after being burped and kept upright for a bit after feeding, he brings up milk onto the changing mat and inevitably on his clothes which then need to be changed.

Should I change him before a feed even though he tends to wee during/just after so has a very wet nappy or keep doing what I'm doing and chalk the minor vomiting as normal...?

YoniBottsBumgina Sun 12-May-13 03:47:58

I think that minor vomiting is quite normal - it's known as posseting, but you could try varying the time of changing him to see if it helps - it must be a pain to have to change the whole outfit. Maybe waiting for longer after a feed? Or you could try just before, nappies can usually hold more than one wee so if he's doing one during or just after a feed he should be comfortable for a while if it's in a fresh nappy.

karinmaria Sun 12-May-13 07:33:52

Thank you for replying - I think I'm going to change him before a feed instead of after as I'm sure you're right about nappies keeping him dry. I've been waiting up to 45 mins after feeding before changing and he still brings up milk...

Do/did you change yours at night? The process of it seems to wake up baby (and then he's awake for 2 hours at 3am) so I'm thinking about trying the baby dry nappies as he leaks otherwise.

marshmallow2468 Sun 12-May-13 07:42:27

I only change at night if I can smell poo. Luckily that's rare, he's not needed changing in the middle of the night since he was about 6 or 7 weeks.

karinmaria Sun 12-May-13 09:35:35