Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

6YO child safety riding bike on our estate - advice required

(8 Posts)
KBabs Wed 01-May-13 11:59:43

hi there, I'm new to Mumsnet and this is my first posting. I don't have children myself but last night I noticed a little lad (he's just turned 6) who lives on our street riding a bike in the road, without a helmet or reflective clothing, no lights fitted on bike, without parental supervision. I noticed him at around 7.45pm and then saw him go past our place on the bike again at 8.30pm or so. We live on an estate rather than on a main road but the street design - there is only 1 long interconnecting street linking up all the closes so there are still cars able to drive around with speeds of 5-20MPH. I spoke to my OH about this, he was quite relaxed about kids riding bikes, and thought it was no big deal, I know when I was a kid (ages ago!) we did not have helmets but I had been taught road safety at school and I didn't ride my bike unsupervised until I was about 8 or 9. We don't have kids ourselves so we don't know if this acceptable or not anymore! Any advice? I do know him/his parents a bit and I would be OK to speak with them about it directly but want to check what is considered reasonable/unreasonable by other parents before I do this so that it is a measured response. Thanks in advance!

cathan Wed 01-May-13 14:36:32